Happenings as of Late

Standard

 

It’s been awhile since I’ve felt up to writing. Things are going mostly ok. I have a steady gentleman caller, and he seems to be very nice so far. Work is dysfunctional as always, and school is fine. I’m enjoying my Urban Studies class very much. 

ImageLately, I’ve been doing a lot of baking. I think it’s mostly because it’s autumn, and therefore PIE season! I’ve made an apple pie, a sweet potato pie, and banana bread over the past couple weeks. I’ve made apple pie in the past, but it was always super runny. The trick for that, I just learned, is to toss your apples in a little bit of cornstarch prior to baking. The cornstarch makes the filling nice and thick.

ImageI did not like my apple pie recipe very much, so I will not post it, but I loved this sweet potato pie recipe. My banana bread recipe was from The Kitchn, and it’s amazing. Best banana bread ever.

ImageA couple weeks ago, I got tea with my old friend Scarlett.

ImageWe went to McKenna’s Tea Cottage in Seal Beach. It was a lovely place, but I don’t really recommend them. I prefer Paris in a Cup in Orange, personally.

ImageThis past Sunday, I went to the LA County Fair with Scarlett. Image

It was very sunny, so I purchased a lovely floppy hat to shade myself.

Image

I had a turkey leg at Juicy’s to start.  Then we went to look at the exhibits.

Image

Image

Image

 

I really want to learn how to make these ruffly cakes!  Love this.

 

 

 

 

 

ImageImage

This purple dress was gorgeous.

 

 

Image

Absolutely love this dress.

Image

Afterwards we looked at the wares for purchase.  There was a booth with many types of massagers, including this facial massager.  When I tried it, it tickled my nose horribly!

Image

I ended the day with funnel cake, then took the train home.  I highly recommend taking the Metrolink to the LA Fair.  It’s $10 for the whole day, plus your fair ticket is $10, instead of $19.  They have a tram that takes you right from the train to the front gate.  It saves a lot of time and hassle!

Leave a Reply

