Standard

One of my major issues with evangelical Christianity is that they treat salvation like a golden ticket. If you’ve prayed the sinner’s prayer at least once in your life, then you are in. You’re going to heaven.

“Dear Jesus, please come into my heart.”

BOOM! Saved – forever and ever.

I was taught that you can’t lose your salvation. I was taught that even if you never once acted like a Christian, you would still go to heaven. For we are saved by grace, not by works.

I love how the Orthodox Church teaches that if you have faith, then you will have works. How can you believe and not act like a Christian? A true believer wants to become more like God. Her whole life is a journey towards deification (theosis).

If I had listened to the Baptist preachers growing up, I probably wouldn’t be working out my salvation with fear and trembling right now. I’ve known for years that what they taught was hypocritical and silly. The golden ticket theology didn’t make sense. Theosis, however, makes complete sense, and it feels purposeful.

Leave a Reply

